My Happiest Moment

Today’s prompt from BlogHer:

Name the happiest moment in your life thus far.

I would have to say that was on December 31, 2008. My wedding to Lee.

A toast to the married couple!

It was a bit overcast that day, but the night was clear and crisp. We had decorated the backyard with Christmas lights on the fence. We invited only a few people so it would be an intimate affair. Both of us had been married before and had the big wedding, so we wanted something simple and elegant. I can tell you that our wedding turned out even better than expected.

I was still very nervous that evening, but as soon as Lee came to walk with me to the “altar,” I felt at ease. I knew I was marrying the right person.

When we walked into the backyard, everyone started to whistle “The Wedding March.”

We wrote our own ceremony, including our vows, and our officiant was a close friend.

We had a champagne toast afterwards, and our friends and family came up and said wonderful things that made everyone tear up.

Lee made our cake, and his sister Aimi painted beautiful cherry blossoms on the fondant. It was one of the most beautiful cakes I had ever seen.

Mmmm....cake

At midnight we lit sparklers and celebrated the New Year.

Happy New Year!

I look back at that night fondly, and am so glad that we will be celebrating our third anniversary soon.

I love you, Lee!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Fiona
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 02:38:17

    Thats just beautiful 🙂 xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

