The Physical Toll of Anxiety

This past week has been brutal for me, emotionally and physically.

Emotionally I’ve been sailing on choppy waves. There’s been a reprieve between rocking and rolling, but barely.

What always surprises me, though, is how anxiety can take such a physical toll. Before my trip to see Dad, I couldn’t sleep, I was weepy, and I was constantly grinding my teeth.

Last night, after we got home, I crashed. Because I no longer felt like I had to be on guard, my body just kind of…gave up. I ended up going to bed at 9 p.m. and slept until 9 this morning.

Today, I still feel rundown. I got out of the house to run some errands, but for the most part I was tired, and my body hurt all over. I don’t think I’m coming down with anything. It’s just that I’m not in “fight or flight” mode, like I have been for the past week.

It seems like the more I let myself get worked up over something, the worse I feel afterward.

I hope I can work on reducing anticipatory anxiety so that I can feel energized, rather than exhausted, and be able to enjoy more that life has to offer.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ocdtalk
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 15:51:29

    I also find it amazing how much our mental health can affect our physical health, but when you think of it, it shouldn’t be so surprising……they’re both “connected” to “us.” And it’s true for all emotions, not just anxiety. Shortly after my dad passed away, my mother was hospitalized because we thought she was having a heart attack. Turns out it was “broken heart syndrome,” a common physical ailment brought on by intense grief.
    I wish you calmer, less anxious days ahead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

